Anytime a person is caught driving with a blood alcohol content over 0.08, they are immediately subjected to drunk driving charges. As these violations can instantly increase for a variety of reasons, it is important for experienced Michigan criminal defense lawyers to update all citizens on the latest legislation that could potentially affect them. The most recent efforts of the state to curb intoxicated driving resulted in the “Super Drunk” bill, creating extra punishments for those who drive under the influence of excessive alcohol.
The new bill, effective on Halloween 2010, add criminal penalties for those convicted of Michigan drunk driving charges with a blood alcohol content registering 0.17 or more. In other words, it instantly turns a 93-day misdemeanor into a 180-day misdemeanor, requiring successful completion of a year-long rehabilitation and treatment program to ensure sobriety behind the wheel.
All motorists convicted of drunk driving are subject to losing their license for a period of time, regardless of how many offenses they have been accused of. Those who have no prior criminal history will almost certainly have their driving privileges suspended for at least a year. Additionally, while the motorist may be granted a restricted license after 45 days, they must install an interlock system in their vehicle and keep it there until the Secretary of State issues an order for its removal.
As seen by the new legislation put into place, being convicted of driving under the influence can change a person’s life forever. Not only will the suspect face numerous legal challenges, their reputation will almost certainly be compromised as well. Because of the significant impact these charges can have on your life, it is essential to be proactive in securing the best defense for your case. By contacting hard-working and aggressive Michigan drunk driving lawyers, you will not only receive superior legal advice and legal representation, but the chance to stay at home with your family, and not behind bars.